A+ A A-

State Delegation of Montenegro for Negotiations on Accession of Montenegro to the European Union

State delegation holds direct political talks and negotiations with the Member States and EU institutions and is responsible for ensuring the smooth course of negotiations on all chapters of the EU acquis. The State Delegation is accountable to the Government and it acts in accordance with the negotiation guidelines adopted by the Government. The State Delegation submits a report to the Government on the state of affairs of negotiations following each meeting of the intergovernmental conference between Montenegro and the EU Member States at the ministerial level, as well as special reports at the Government's request.

Members of the State Delegation are: the Head of State Delegation - Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Integration, Deputy Head of State Delegation - Chief Negotiator, deputy chief negotiators, Head of Montenegro's Mission to the EU, and the Secretary of the Negotiating Group.

State Delegation so far has participated at four intergovernmental ministerial conferences and two deputy conferences.

The first State Delegation at the ministerial level, on the occasion of the launch of the negotiation process on 29 June 2012, was led by the then-Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Integration Milan Roćen. The delegation members were Chief Negotiator Ambassador Aleksandar Andrija Pejović, Ambassador to the EU Ivan Leković, and Secretary of the Negotiating Group Milivoje Jurišić.

back to top