A+ A A-

College for Negotiations

College for Negotiations is a Government working body, which discusses draft negotiating positions and, following the procedure by the competent working body of the Parliament of Montenegro, submits the positions to the Government for adoption.

The College consists of the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Ministers, and Chief Negotiator. Other ministers can also participate in its work. The College discusses all the matters related to negotiations and decides on the most sensitive issues arising from the negotiation process. Nine College sessions have taken place so far.


State Delegation of Montenegro for Negotiations on Accession of Montenegro to the European Union

State delegation holds direct political talks and negotiations with the Member States and EU institutions and is responsible for ensuring the smooth course of negotiations on all chapters of the EU acquis. The State Delegation is accountable to the Government and it acts in accordance with the negotiation guidelines adopted by the Government. The State Delegation submits a report to the Government on the state of affairs of negotiations following each meeting of the intergovernmental conference between Montenegro and the EU Member States at the ministerial level, as well as special reports at the Government's request.

Members of the State Delegation are: the Head of State Delegation - Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Integration, Deputy Head of State Delegation - Chief Negotiator, deputy chief negotiators, Head of Montenegro's Mission to the EU, and the Secretary of the Negotiating Group.

State Delegation so far has participated at four intergovernmental ministerial conferences and two deputy conferences.

The first State Delegation at the ministerial level, on the occasion of the launch of the negotiation process on 29 June 2012, was led by the then-Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Integration Milan Roćen. The delegation members were Chief Negotiator Ambassador Aleksandar Andrija Pejović, Ambassador to the EU Ivan Leković, and Secretary of the Negotiating Group Milivoje Jurišić.


Negotiating Group

The Negotiating Group is in charge of the expert-and technical level cooperation with the institutions of the EU and Member States in all chapters of the acquis.

The Negotiating Group considers and adopts the proposals of negotiating positions and is accountable for its work to the Head of the State Delegation and the Government. The Negotiating Group performs its duties in accordance with the guidelines and instructions of the Head of the State Delegation. The Negotiating Group submits the reports on the state of play in negotiations after each intergovernmental conference to the Head of the State Delegation and to the Government, as well as special reports if requested by the Head of the State Delegation and the Government. So far, 13 meetings of the Negotiating Group have been held.

The Negotiating Group is composed of the Chief Negotiator, ten members of the Negotiating Group in charge of individual chapters, Head of the Mission of Montenegro to the EU and the Head of the Secretariat of the Negotiating Group. The Group has thus far held 13 meetings and has discussed 23 negotiating positions, 2 reports on fulfilled commitments in chapters, as well as 10 reports on negotiation chapters.

Appointment of negotiators went in parallel with the establishment of working groups for negotiations, from February 2012 until April 2013. During this period, eleven negotiators were appointed for 33 chapters of acquis, who comprise the Negotiating Group.

Each of eleven negotiators is in charge of at least two chapters. Even though they vary in size and complexity, each of the chapters bears significant weight and value in overall transformation of the society. If the acquis as a whole is viewed as a mosaic, than each of the 33 parts represent an invaluably important segment for creation of the whole picture.


Office for Support to the Chief Negotiator

Office of the Chief Negotiator performs tasks related to: supporting the implementation of the tasks and daily activities of the Chief Negotiator, organising and following the meetings of the Chief Negotiator with national and foreign representatives in the country and abroad, preparation of the Chief Negotiator's meetings and visits as well as his participation in public events. The Office coordinates the tasks with the Negotiating Structure and other stakeholders relevant to the accession process. The part of the Chief Negotiator's Office that performs its duties in Brussels as part of the Mission of Montenegro to the European Union is mainly focused on the communication with EU institutions, principally with the European Commission and the Council, as well as with permanent representations of the Member States to the EU. The Office of the Chief Negotiator at Montenegro's Mission to the EU is a channel for the negotiating structure's communication (at the operational level of negotiators, heads and secretaries of the working groups for preparing negotiations on individual chapters) with the European Commission. It coordinates the two-way delivery of relevant materials and documents in the negotiation process between the negotiating structure and the EU.


Secretariat of the Negotiating Group

Secretariat of the Negotiating Group is in charge of coordinating tasks related to the accession negotiations, preparation of the analytical overview of alignment of Montenegrin legislation with the EU acquis, drafting reports during negotiations, technical preparation of the working groups' activities for negotiation on individual chapters, technical preparation of the draft negotiating positions, preparation of the State Delegation's meetings and the Negotiating Group's meetings, and the coordination of the electronic database for monitoring the negotiations. The Secretariat was established in February 2012 by the Decision on establishing the negotiating structure for Montenegro's negotiation on EU accession. The Secretariat has 18 members who are MFAEI representatives, and their work is coordinated by the Secretary of the Negotiating Group, who is appointed and dismissed by the Government, and is proposed by the Head of the State Delegation, with the Chief Negotiator's consent.

Milodrag Radović
Secretary of the Negotiating Group

Tatjana Tomić
Secretary WGs 1,6

Srđan Ćetković
Secretary WG 2

Milena Biro
Secretary WGs 3, 4, 5

Marko Mrdak
Secretary WGs 7, 8, 25

Zorka Kordić
Secretary WGs 9, 17

Melita Rastoder
Secretary WGs 10, 26, 28

Velimir Šljivančanin
Secretary WGs 11, 13

Srđan Ćetković
Secretary WG 12

Amina Bajrović
Secretary WGs 14, 21

Sanja Radović
Secretary WGs 15, 27

Đorđe Janković
Secretary WGs 16, 29

Ana Tomković
Secretary WG 18

Dragana Garbin
Secretary WGs 19

Vladana Mitrović
Secretary WGs 20, 33

Mitar Đurović
Secretary WG 22

Violeta Berišaj
Secretary WG 23

Miloš Radonjić
Secretary WG 24

Jelena Leković
Secretary WG 30

Milena Šofranac
Secretary WG 31

Aleksandar Nikčević
Secretary WG 32